Tuesday, December 2, 2014

FRAUD ALERT: Domain's posing as Valve Corp (Russian)

We were contacted by the hosting provider Akamai and advised that the domain in the capture below is actually an imposter out of Russia. Upon researching the information provided the registration information of the associated record below does not match other legitimate Akamai domain registrations so we have taken the following actions to correct this bulletin.

1. Removed the Akamai netblock from our temporary block list
2. Blocked all associated domains related to the fraudulant actors
3. Provided an update on the VD blog

We are glad that we were contacted as this helps us in keeping our information accurate. If you reach out to us as Akamai did we will work with you to confirm, verify or remove information that is in error.

Thank You for assisting us Akamai

Original Vuln Disclosure Article:

This isn't in the news but we can tell you that Valve is once again owned. We have seen clear evidence, packet captures and information being sold in the underground that are clearly not for public disclosure. Why don't these "Media" companies hire people that understand media. Valve is another repeat offender with the likes of Sony (which also has issues this week).

Valve keeps trying to keep hackers out but they have to understand that hackers are who made them in the first place. Game on my friends. Let's see if Valve put's out any public statements or see if they can find their Spreadsheets out on the Internet anywhere...     You might wanna try Pastebin guys!

Oh and your still on our blacklist for NOT securing your network the first time.

UPDATE: Oh and it's great that your web servers are now hosting the malware... Maybe they are planning on attacking your customers as well....

12-02-2014,screen-hosting.net,Valve Corp.

No comments:

Post a Comment